Skip to content
Dial 999 in an emergency
Dial 101 in a non-emergency
AA | Accessibility
Logo - City of London Police
Report a crime online
A quick, convenient way to report crime and incidents.


Community risk register

The Civil Contingencies Act (2004) places a legal duty on the wide range of responders to carry out risk assessments and maintain them in a Community Risk Register. This Community Risk Register is the first step in the emergency planning process; it ensures that planning and other work is carried out in proportion to the risk.

Whilst the requirement to produce a Community Risk Register is recent, responders within London have always been proactive in identifying risks and in working to mitigate the effects of the risks should they cause a major emergency. Currently London is subdivided into six areas and the City of London lies in the Central London area. A risk register for Central London has been published which highlights potential hazards in our area and which service has lead responsibility for dealing with it.  Central London Community Risk Register.

The register is intended to reassure local residents of the measures and plans which have been put in place to respond to the potential hazards. It has been prepared in accordance with statutory national guidance on emergency preparedness.

The purpose of the Community Risk Register is:

  • To ensure that local responders have an accurate understanding of the risks that they face to provide a sound foundation for planning
  • To provide a work programme and to ensure efficient allocation of resources
  • To enable local responders to assess the adequacy of their plans and identify any gaps there may be
  • To facilitate and encourage multi-agency working which ensures a more comprehensive planning process
  • To provide an accessible overview of the emergency planning context for the public and other interested parties
  • To inform on national and regional risk assessments that support emergency planning and capability development at those levels