1832 Force is formed and known as London City Police

1839 Name changed to City of London Police and post of Commissioner created

1840 Headquarters moved from Guildhall to 26 Old Jewry

1865 City Police Hospital founded in Bishopsgate Police Station where it remained until 1947

1888 Catherine Eddows murdered in Mitre Square by Jack the Ripper

1907 City Police Ambulance Service established and continued to serve the City until 1949

1910 Three City policemen shot dead and two seriously wounded by Latvian revolutionaries

First World War City bombed many times - PC Minke killed on duty in the City. A number of City policemen joined the Forces and many lose their lives.

1930 Traffic lights installed at Ludgate Circus, followed two years later by the first automatic traffic signals in Europe at junction of Bishopsgate and Cornhill

Second World War Almost one third of the City destroyed in one night (29th December 1940) - Moor Lane Police Station totally destroyed

1949 First City policewoman appointed

1965 Cloak Lane Police Station closed and replaced by the new station at 37 Wood Street

1973 Old Bailey terrorist bombing

1983 Force streamlined to two divisions

1992 St Mary Axe terrorist bombing

1993 Bishopsgate​ terrorist bombing and 'Inner Zone' with restricted entry points introduced

1997 Introduction of Automatic Number Plate Recognition system (ANPR)

2001 Headquarters moved to Wood Street on closure of 26 Old Jewry.